Development Roles

Development Roles

  • UX Designer – responsible for designing the user interaction and flow
  • UI Developer – responsible for creating and coding the user interface in HTML, CSS, Javascript
  • Coder – writes software code, also known as a programmer
  • Front end developer – focused on UI elements eg javascript, HTML
  • Back end developer – focused on database and business logic layers e.g. SQL, C++, C#
  • Full stack – a developer that has both front and back end skills
  • Architect – develops conceptual modesl for the architecture (framework) of the solution
  • Designer
  • Business Analyst – understands the current and future state of a business flow/problem.
  • Tester – Tests the software performs as it is intended.
  • Team Leader – manages the team members in a team
  • Manager – manages team leaders or teams


  • Product owner – owns and prioritises the backlog of tasks.
  • SCRUM master – facilitates the scrum
  • Development team member – develops and/or tests software

Specialist Roles

  • Penetration Tester – CREST approved, able to test an application or website for security vulnerabilities and mis-configuration.
  • White Hat Hacker – Ethical security expert who specialises in specific testing methods to penetrate a website vulnerabilities.
  • Automation Tester – a tester that has specific skills in writing software to automate test sequences, using tools such as cucumber, specflow, BDD, selenium
  • Load Tester – a tester who specialises in subjecting a website to various levels of load (simulated usage).
  • Performance Tester – a tester who specialises in monitoring and measuring the responsiveness of a website or application, especially under load.
  • DevOps – a person who crosses the boundary of development and IT operations, to build CI/CD pipelines to build software and deploy. Uses skills such as IaC infrastructure as code , cloud deployment, high availability, serverless.
  • SRE site reliability-  engineer – an IT specialist responsible for a system in terms of uptime, latency, performance, load handling, deployment, change control, incident handling.
  • Security Analyst – someone with specialist knowledge of security standards (ISO27001), network, database, security policy, access control.

Depth of Experience

Often the depth of experience of the roles is indicated by a prefix of:

  • Intern – First stage, learning the entry level skills may be on an apprenticeship scheme.
  • Junior – entry level position.
  • Mid – wide or deep experience
  • Senior – very wide or very deep experience
  • Principal – often the most senior position in the department /organisation for that skill set.